• Category: Latest News
  • Written by Rick Ellis

Travis Scott To Premiere New Track During Fortnite Concert


The Grammy-nominated rapper Travis Scott is teaming up with the online video game Fortnite to launch his new (and track "Astronomical" on Thursday, April 23rd. The move is the latest attempt by a music star to leverage Fortnite's massive online audience, following Marshmello's virtual concert in the game last year, which Epic Games, the makers of Fortnite, reported was virtually attended by millions.

"From April 23-25, blast off into a one of a kind musical journey featuring Travis Scott and the world premiere of a brand new track," Epic Games wrote in an announcement. "Astronomical is an other-worldly experience inspired by Cactus Jack's (Scott's record label) creations, built from the ground up in Fortnite."

Fortnite users can jump into the game about 30 minutes before each scheduled "Astronomical" event (there are five of them) and will receive a free Astroworld Cyclone Glider and two space art loading screens just for tuning in. Fortnite is simultaneously launching a Travis Scott outfit for players that includes three variant skins (including one with a spacesuit helmet), which players can obtain after they complete specific tasks.



Here's when the events will occur:

Thursday, April 23 at 7 p.m. EDT| 4 p.m. PDT | 2300 GMT
Friday, April 24 at 10 a.m. EDT | 7 a.m. PDT |1400 GMT
Saturday, April 25 at 12 a.m. EDT | 9 p.m. PDT | 0400 GMT
Saturday, April 25 at 11 a.m. EDT| 8 a.m. PDT | 1500 GMT 
Saturday, April 25 at 6 p.m. EDT | 3 p.m. PDT | 2200 GMT 

Fortnite is limiting its in-game promotions to musical acts. In December, the game featured a sneak peek at the "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker" movie, complete with a message from the Emperor, the Millennium Falcon and "Star Wars"-themed gear for players. In recent weeks. Quibi has also been offering Fortnite users a look at some of its programming by "screening" shows in the game's outdoor movie screen.